RSS

R & R

27 Mar

The past three days have not been all that great.  The temperatures are falling, therefore my pain has increased.

It’s important to remember that with rheumatoid arthritis, you NEED to rest and relax.  I’ve been quite busy so I haven’t had much ME time.  I haven’t been able to workout and walk like I had been when it was in the 70s and 80s.  I am finding myself mentally and physically drained at times throughout the day, but I must keep moving.  I watched my nephew Braden with my sister from about 4-6, then from 7-9:30 I watched my cousin.  Tomorrow I am making sure that I get a workout in, maybe even a walk, considering it’s supposed to jump back up to 70 degrees tomorrow.

I am interested to see if many other arthritis sufferers truly notice a difference when the weather changes.  I honestly just do not feel good.  My wrist was bothering me an exceptional amount on Sunday.  It was rather pathetic, but I insisted on not taking any tylenol.  I am quite stubborn when it comes to taking pain relievers/reducers because I am already taking plaquenil and folic acid, not to mention methotrexate as well on Sundays.  Also, my headaches have returned though I can probably peg those to allergies or sinuses.

Also, do any of you know of family members, friends, or perhaps yourself, who have benefited from living in a warmer area, that has much more consistent temperatures?  I have heard stories of people who suffer from arthritis in a cooler and rainy environment who actually feel much better if they move to a warm area.  Not that I can or want to move out of Ohio, but it is something I should consider for the future.

On a much brighter note, I had an incredible weekend!  I visited Matt in Columbus and had such a great time hanging out with friends who I am getting to know better each time I visit.  Matt and I were able to go on a date to Chipotle and then we went shopping which can always brighten my mood.  I am very thankful that Matt is a helpful shopper.  Instead of dragging through forever 21 with me, I would ask him his opinion on some of the pieces I liked and he let me know whether or not I should get them.

I’m looking forward to a better tomorrow, and attempting to keep a positive attitude.

Until next time, keep resting and feeling better.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in My battle with RA

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “R & R

  1. sarahsfoodieblog

    March 28, 2012 at 4:18 AM

    Hi Becca, sorry to hear you have had a bad few days. Have nominated you for the Liebster Award (check out my blog for details) and am hoping this will lift your spirits a bit. Always enjoy reading your site. Happy blogging 🙂

     
    • Becca

      March 28, 2012 at 9:27 AM

      Sorry to hear that you are having a flare up as well. Oh wow, how kind of you! It certainly has been an encouragement, as I was just checking my blog when I woke up and saw this comment! Thanks for the nomination, I will be figuring out what steps I need to take to pass it on!

       
  2. cestlavie22

    March 28, 2012 at 7:42 AM

    Keep your head up girl you have an awesome attitude and that always helps in the end 🙂

     
    • Becca

      March 28, 2012 at 9:28 AM

      Thank you so very much for the kind words! I’ve been feeling pretty worn out so it’s always nice to find such a wonderful comment after a long day! 🙂

       
  3. RALemonade

    March 28, 2012 at 10:11 AM

    I definitely have more RA related pain when the temperature drops – so like you, I’m considering a warmer climate for the future. I definitely don’t blame you for putting off the Tylenol either – it’s hard, even when you’re in pain, to keep dumping drugs in your body knowing you are on so many already!

    Glad you had a great weekend despite it all, stay strong. 🙂

     
    • Becca

      March 28, 2012 at 10:17 AM

      I wish we knew the reason behind the pain when the weather drops. That is exactly mu thoughts on why I didn’t want to take Tylenol!
      Hoping your week is pain-free! Thanks for the kind words 🙂

       
  4. Kelley

    March 28, 2012 at 10:27 AM

    I wonder how your body would react to the climate I’m living in now… temperatures here haven’t been changing much, as it’s consistently been in the mid 70s-mid 80s during the day for a few weeks now. I know I’m more prone to headaches when the temperature goes crazy.

    And I’m glad you have a man who will willingly go shopping with you! Ha ha, with David, it’s like pulling teeth :T Miss you! See you at the end of June 🙂

     
    • Becca

      March 28, 2012 at 11:29 AM

      My body would probably would be very appreciative! Just another reason that I need to visit, if only I had enough money and time to do so! Oh I know it, I’m very fortunate indeed 🙂 See you soon! Miss you as well… and dancing to MJ with you and Jackie!

       

Leave a comment