RSS

Changes

30 Jul

Friday afternoon I said my final goodbye and moved to Westerville.  I’ve been anticipating the move for almost two months.  I can tell I am experiencing some anxiety because my arthritis is flaring up in spurts.  My knee and elbows are swollen today.  I wish I knew the exact cause of a flare up, but it seems to be due to a mixture of causes.

When I attended Bowling Green from the fall of 2009 to the spring of 2010, my arthritis was at an all-time high.  I was miserable, drained, sore, and weak.  I lost over 15 lbs. because the medication I was taking upset my stomach which lessened my appetite.  I will have to monitor my weight now that I have moved because I don’t have the privilege of having a fridge full of food at all times.

I went grocery shopping with Matt on Saturday and was successfully able to keep the cost under $50.  That was a big deal to me because I have created a budget and want to stick to it.  Since I am responsible for all of my meals, I am trying to lean towards healthier food purchases, which I hope will improve my joint soreness.

Yesterday I surprised Matt while he was at work at Starbucks.  I decided that since I would have at least 45 minutes until he was done, that I would bring my Bible and do some reading.  I chose to read from Romans chapter 3 and really liked verse 22.  “We are made right in God’s sight when we trust in Jesus Christ to take away our sins.  And we can all be saved in this same way, no matter who we are or what we have done”.  I was made right with God when I was 9 years old when I asked Him to come into my life and to lead it.  I remember giving my life to Him very clearly.  I was sitting in the kitchen having a conversation with my mom and was asking her question’s about God, Heaven, and Hell.  She explained to me how she accepted God into her life recently and told me it was my choice and that no one could make the choice for me.  Looking back, that is by far the biggest decision I have made in my life and I am forever grateful for it.  Of course the second biggest decision has been this move.

On Wednesday I will work from 9-2 with the children I will be nannying for.  I am excited to spend more time with them so they can become more comfortable around me.  I still am not confident enough to drive to their house without using a GPS because last time I tried to do so, I missed my turn and was 15 minutes late.  It has been my prayer that I will fit right into the family and that the children and I will have a strong bond.

I didn’t mean to take such a long hiatus from blogging, but up until the move, I hadn’t been in a writing mood and felt like I didn’t have much to report.  I have a feeling that will change 🙂

This is a picture of my key that got stuck in our door.  I had to call my roommate Anna to come help me get it out, but she wasn’t able to do so either.  Eventually Anna called for help from a friend named Steven, and he was able to get the key out within a minute.  Go figure.

My first Joshua House experience with Scarlet and Anna.  Joshua House is an evening church service that is geared towards “20 somethings”.  The worship was really good and the message was interesting!

Until next time, don’t get your key stuck in a door!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in My battle with RA

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Changes

  1. Dianna Distel

    July 30, 2012 at 8:43 PM

    My Becca. I miss you and the house is quiet without you here. Sorry to hear of your pain. I hope it will settle down when you settle in. Will pray for your time on Wednesday with the children. Call me sometime. Love ya. Mom

     

Leave a comment